Travelers from Ebola-affected nations restricted to 5 U.S. airports


This post is also available in: עברית (Hebrew)


The U.S Department of Homeland Security (DHS) announced Tuesday that travelers from three West African Ebola-affected countries will now be required to enter the U.S. at just five airports.

Travelers from Liberia, Sierra Leone and Guinea will now need to arrive at John F. Kennedy International Airport in New York, Washington Dulles International Airport, O’Hare International Airport in Chicago, Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport in Atlanta and Newark Liberty International Airport.

According to Government Security News, DHS implemented enhanced screening measures at the five airports in cooperation with the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) and Prevention.

Israel HLS

Passengers flying into one of these airports from flights originating from the three nations have been subject to secondary screening and added protocols, including having their temperature taken, before they can enter the United States.

These airports account for about 94% of travelers flying to the United States from the nations, according to DHS.

DHS currently has in place measures to identify and screen anyone at all land, sea and air ports of entry into the United States who the agency believes have been present in the three nations in the prior 21 days, he added. “We are continually evaluating whether additional restrictions or added screening and precautionary measures are necessary to protect the American people and will act accordingly.”